Four Ways to Fix the Mid-Summer Classic

What does a guy have to do to get voted in? (Keith Allison/Flickr)

What does a guy have to do to get voted in? (Keith Allison/Flickr)

Now before we begin let me start out by saying I know the All-Star game is an exhibition game. But be that as it may, it’s still kind of a joke. None of the reasoning behind the rules, set-up and outcome makes any sense. Now don’t get me wrong, I love the All-Star game as much as the next guy, but you have to admit it is very flawed.

With that being said, I wanted to take an opportunity to explain the things wrong with the game as well as how to fix them. After all, there’s no sense complaining about something if you aren’t going to bring a reasonable solution to the table. Now I know this is going to sound negative (you should have read my original draft), but it’s not meant to criticize as much as it is to help shine light on its flaws and to work on fixing it. Remember, this is the only All-Star game of the four major sports that players actually care and where there are consequences at stake…

(click here to continue reading on Baseball Daily Digest…)

Matthew Whipps is a writer for Baseball Daily Digest. If you would like to contact him via email you can reach him at whipps15[at]gmail.com.

Comments are closed.

