I Guess It’s Ok Soto…

How sad is it that when I saw the headline of “Cubs’ Soto tested positive for marijuana” on ESPN I was relieved? I mean, it’s not a performance enhancing drug right?

What is even more sad is the fact that apparently Major League Baseball doesn’t care if it’s players use other illegal drugs just as long as it isn’t a PED. According to the article:

MLB does not regularly test for marijuana since it’s not considered a performance-enhancing drug, according to a players association spokesman interviewed by Levine.

Great. Another proud day for Major League Baseball.

Matthew Whipps is a writer for Baseball Daily Digest. If you would like to contact him via email you can reach him at whipps15[at]gmail.com.

6 Responses to I Guess It’s Ok Soto…

  1. Jeebus says:

    What are you saying in this post? You think MLB should be testing for marijuana? What’s next, fining players for cheating on their wives?

    Marijuana is about as far from a performance-enhancing substance as you can get. You might as well test for alcohol.

    Please, let’s hope the USA’s insane drug laws at least stay out of baseball.

    Marijuana, for crying out loud. It’s funny, as if Soto was caught cutting ahead of the line in the supermarket. Oooooh, how horrible!

  2. Well the way I see it, marijuana is an illegal substance in this country. I’m pretty sure if I test positive for it at my job (or anyone who works a “real” job) well then I won’t have a job much longer.

    I’m not saying they have to specifically test for it, but if it comes up in a test as positive, they should face some sort of fine or suspension.

    I think what people fail to realize in this argument as well as with PEDs that these drugs are ILLEGAL. Plain and simple, like it or not, they are illegal. If you don’t like that fact, too bad. Don’t live here if you don’t like it. It will never change so get over it.

    These people fighting to legalize things like marijuna just need to get over it as it will never be legalized. If it can’t be legalized in a liberal state like California, it ain’t happening.

    I will now get off my soap box.

  3. Jeebus says:

    So if you receive a test while away from your job (like, say, at an international tournament in another country), you think that your employer should be able to terminate you, and you should be subject to criminal prosecution for a “crime” you may or may not have committed?

    Marijuana is a joke crime. It’s jaywalking. Eventually the USA will catch up with the rest of the world and realize this.

  4. Jeebus says:

    And no, many of the drugs on MLB’s Restricted List are not illegal, or even controlled.

    Marijuana isn’t even illegal in all states for all purposes.

  5. No but if mandatory drug testing was part of my job (let’s say to test for opiates for example) and they happen to come across marijuana in my test, well then they should have some recourse.

    I’m not saying the MLB needs to test for it, but if they come across it they should take corrective actions.

    Good discussion!

  6. I have been reading your blog now for quite some time and really love it. I don’t know if it’s your style or not , but do you think you could do a post on the oil spill in the gulf?

    I love your thoughts and opinions, and would love to see your comments on this sad tragedy.

