Top Prospect #14: Colby Rasmus

14
NAME: Colby Rasmus
POSITION: Center Field
AGE: 22 | BATS: L | THROWS: L
ORGANIZATION: St. Louis Cardinals

2008 STATISTICS
LVL AVG R HR RBI OBP SLG
MiLB .252 58 12 38 .351 .401

Scouting Report: Colby Rasmus projects all plus tools and is the superior, impact-type prospect the St. Louis Cardinals organization has been waiting for ever since Albert Pujols was plucked from it. Some people are worried that Rasmus won’t be the same man since his injury last season, but there’s no proof of that. Rasmus is a perfect example of a five-tool player as he can run, throw, field, hit, and hit for power. He has very quick hands which gives him excellent plate coverage. Projects to have plus power and should be able to put up a fantastic stat line. Excellent bat speed, good pitch recognition, and plus runner. Not sure how much St. Louis will allow him to run once he reaches Majors but could have 20+ stolen bases per year. He’s doing an excellent job on his move to center field which is where the Cardinals desperately need someone ever since Jim Edmonds’ departure.

By Matthew Whipps
The Diamond Cutter
Major & Minor League Baseball Columnist
diamondcutter@columnist.com

| | | |

6 Responses to Top Prospect #14: Colby Rasmus

  1. E K says:

    I think the Cardinals have done a very good job of not rushing him (even though he has been young for his age at every level). I think he starts the year in AAA and gets called up about the same time as Longoria did last year. I think the key for him is getting off to a good start for once. If he can do that this year then look out…..he could put up big numbers from the get go.

    I like him a lot and would rank him in my top 5 prospect list.

  2. Mike says:

    I yearn for the day when prospects were called up or not called up based on their abilities, their readiness or a direct need, not when it would be best to stall their arbitration clock. But, that’s just me.

  3. EK –

    I think you’re probably right and it all depends on what the Cards do with the log jam they have in the outfield. I really hope they do give him some time down in AAA to build confidence so he can hit the ground running.

    Mike –

    Yeah I hear you. I also miss the day when the game’s best players weren’t juicing up and then lying about doing it and then getting caught and then giving me a fake apology when the only thing you’re sorry for is getting caught and then wanting me to feel sorry for them because it was supposed to be anonymous when I could really care less about that fact considering YOU WERE CHEATING!!!

    Sorry I had to get that off my chest.

  4. E K says:

    The whole steroid thing no longer bothers me. So players cheater….there has been cheating in the game for many many years. Whether it be throwing spit balls or scuffing the ball or amphetamines or intentionally throwing games. There has always been cheating and there will always be cheating. It’s unfortunate, but it is what it is. Knowing all of that, I still love the game. Hitting a baseball is still probably the hardest thing to do in all of sports. And while steroids may helps a players bat speed (I’m guessing) it isn’t going to help with their hand eye coordination.

    As for these guys getting into the HOF or not, I think they should all be let in if their numbers deserve it. Pete Rose should be in too. To me it has always been funny that baseball gave Steve How a ton of chances to clean up his cocaine addiction. They gave him how many 2nd chances??? Yet Pete Rose is banned for life. Stupid.

    That is my rant. I don’t condone cheating and would love to see it stopped. But I also live in the real world and realize there will always be someone out there looking to get an edge….

  5. E K says:

    Don’t get wrong though….I think Rose was a scum bag for what he did and how he handled it afterwards. But I just don’t get how baseball was so forgiving towards Steve Howe and then banned Rose for life. Rose’s actions were bad, but doing cocaine over and over and over……..I think that’s worse.

  6. Yeah it’s sad that we have to take the stance of accepting that they cheat, but its really all we can do without letting it ruin the game we love.

    It’s just frustrating when A-Roid comes out and acts smug and insincere about doing it. I don’t believe he stopped doing it that long ago.

